The Art of Osamu Tezuka – God of Manga: out now in Japanese

I’m almost too happy to type. I’ve known this was on the horizon for a while, but now here it is: my book on Osamu Tezuka being sold in his homeland and his mother tongue, alongside the hundreds – maybe thousands – of other books about him by Japanese authors. A small fish in a big sea, and so happy to be there!

IMG_1625.JPG

Many, many thanks to everyone involved in making this dream of mine a reality: to my partner Steve for supporting me in everything I do, no matter how crazy it sounds; to the brilliant Tim Pilcher, Nick Jones and Roly Allen at Ilex Press for commissioning, designing and editing the book; to the wonderful team at Tezuka Pro for trusting me to respect and honour their founder’s mighty heritage; to everyone at Abrams for making the US edition possible; to the Society of Authors and the Sasakawa Foundation for supporting my research; and to all the other friends, colleagues, scholars and fans who gave so generously of their expertise.

You can get a copy from a surprising number of Japanese mail-order sites. Completists may also want the English, French, Italian and Chinese editions. I will happily stop and sign the set, anytime, anywhere!

Leave a Reply

