The Difference Between Craft and Art

Kanji for ‘fire’ from “Manga Cross-Stitch”

I make my work in writing,

I make my work in stone,

I make my work from shining scraps

Of silk and blood and bone.

I make my work from sight and smell

And taste and touch and sound –

But all that goes for nothing

When the goddess comes around.

 

I make my work with labour

And skills of hand and heart.

I am a simple crafter.

I have little truck with art.

But when the work takes over

I am blind although I see,

And where I thought I made my work

It makes and unmakes me.

Leave a Reply

