A-Kon 23: Sunrise over Dallas

Three conventions on two continents in three weeks: I knew it was crazy. And A-Kon 23 proved me right, with a dose of airline crud so awful that by Saturday all I could do was swallow pharmaceuticals to get me through my workshops, panels and talks, then collapse in my room waiting for the next dose.

But it was a good con. I saw old friends, made new ones, had a fabulous time at a haiku workshop with a group of people who may just turn out to include two or three terrific new poets, and got an editor who is nobody’s fool interested in a story pitch.

And it started with one of the best sunrises I’ve ever seen. I like early morning, so I see quite a few sunrises, but not many when ¬†I’m at a fairly high vantage point with a camera and time to spare. Juggling too many timezones made me a present of bacteriological warfare, but it also gave me this:¬†sunrise over Dallas on Friday 1st June 2012. Nature’s poetry.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

